Marcus Samo

Secretary for the Department of Health and Social Affairs

As a Cabinet member, the Secretary for the Department of Health and Social Affairs is the Chief Health Advisor to the President and has the full authority to execute the laws and regulations of the FSM National Government in health.

Moses Pretrick

Assistant Secretary for Health

Stuard Penias

Acting Assistant Secretary for Social Affairs

Scott Mori

Administrative Officer

Fancelyn P. Solomon

Administrative Specialist

Sylveria Waltu

Executive Secretary

Olivia edward

International Development Partners

(Function: Facilitate and coordinate assistance with health donor partners)

Boards & Committees

(Function: Ensure compliance with laws, regulations and mandates)
  • Nurse Licensing
  • Medical Licensing Board
  • Behavioral Health and Wellness Advisory (BHW) Council
  • Partnership for Success Council
  • President’s National Advisory Council on Children (PNACC)
  • Tobacco Advisory Council
  • Food Work Group

Management Committees and Workgroups

(Function: To carry out specific functions and mandates as directed by the Secretary)
  • EpiNet, SEOC, SEOW
  • Employment Screening Committee
  • Youth Advisory Council
  • Cancer Steering Committee
  • Health Promotion Coalition
  • Institutional Review Board

Office of Support Services

(Function: As core functions of the department, these services must be maintained at all times and they support the operations of the two major divisions of the department)
  • Administrative Services
  • Preparedness, Surveillance and Response (PSR)
  • Technical Support to the States
  • Informatics, Statistics, & Planning
  • Health Workforce Development
  • Coordination of visiting medical teams
  • Procurement, Inventory and Logistics